Excel 2013 Preview: Installation and Ribbon Errors

The MS Office 2013 public preview was made available on 16th July and I’ve finally had a chance to get stuck in. The installation itself went very smoothly and I put trust in the fact that it would sit happily alongside Office 2010 on my home PC.

However, when I first launched Excel 2013 and created a new workbook, I received the following errors:

Custom UI Runtime Error in Chinese Translation Addin: The call to GetCustomUI() for RibbonID “Microsoft.Excel.Workbook” failed.

Custom UI Runtime Error in Visual Studio Tools for Office Design-Time Adaptor for Excel: The call to GetCustomUI() for RibbonID “Microsoft.Excel.Workbook” failed.

To get rid of the errors I went to Developer tab > COM Add-Ins and unchecked the two add-ins. I’m pretty sure I never had these add-ins ticked in Office 2010 and, since the errors come back again if I re-install them,  I’ve decided to leave them unchecked. For reference, their full names are:

  • C:\Program Files\Microsoft Offce\Office12\ADDINS\TCSCCONV.DLL
  • C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 10.0\Visual Studio Tools for Office\x86\VSTOExcelAdaptor.dll

Interestingly, I then launched Excel 2010 and received these error messages :

Error Loading Custom UI XML
Line 1
Column 275
Error Code 0x80004005
Unknown Office control ID: mso:TogglePointerMode

Error Loading Custom UI XML
Line 1
Column 337
Error Code 0x80004005
Unknown Office control ID: mso:FileOpenUsingBackstage

I went to Developer tab (in Excel 2010) > COM Add-Ins, unchecked the Visual Studio Tools for Office Design-Time Adaptor for Excel add-in, reinstalled it and the error messages disappeared.

Yesterday I received a prompt that an Office 2013 update was available. I assumed that this update would contain some fixes for a bunch of bugs which have been reported over the last few weeks so I dutifully installed it. Frustratingly, the update automatically reinstalled the two problematic add-ins mentioned at the beginning of the article, so I had to uninstall them again!

Has anyone else been experiencing this sort of thing?

About Colin Legg

RAD Developer Microsoft MVP - Excel 2009 - 2014
This entry was posted in Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Office and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Excel 2013 Preview: Installation and Ribbon Errors

  1. sam says:

    I installed it yesterday…go no such errors. I was a bit worried that it might screw up Outlook 2010 as it did not ask me whether I wanted to retain the old outlook or install the new one. But it appears all versions are running side by side happily (2003 to 2013)

    Like

  2. Shah Mansoor says:

    Yes I also have the Run Time error. I experienced office 2013 I i really enjoyed the office 2013 preview but a few days later after installation and using, I was working at excel work sheet duty timing in my office suddenly I received a message RUN TIME ERROR, and excel stopped working and hanged for about 10 minutes. so I could worked for 10 minutes although. After the time excel recovered and I didn’t loos my data in that file. After this error message I uninstall office 2013 preview because of that error message. I want to use office 2013 preview.

    some body give suggestions.

    Like

  3. Viliam says:

    Excel Developer, Accessories achitektúry COM:

    Visual Studio Tool for Office Desingn – Time Adaptor for Excel, NESN be checked !!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

