MS Excel MVP Amsterdam Summit 2014

It’s been a busy few days! I’ve just returned from the European Excel MVP Summit hosted by Microsoft Netherlands in Amsterdam. It’s the second MVP Summit I’ve been to and this one was every bit as good as the Global MVP Summit I attended in Seattle back in 2009. Microsoft Netherlands looked after us extremely well by providing a venue and refreshments for the two-day event as well as treating us to an evening out in central Amsterdam. I was a little bit apprehensive about the Boom Chicago improvisation show themed ‘What’s Up With Those Beards?’ which we were taken to but, fortunately, I managed to keep a low profile and didn’t get picked on!

We had a strong attendance consisting of seventeen Microsoft MVPs from Europe, Australia and North America, as well as Sam Radakovitz who is the Excel Program Lead at Microsoft. The conference was under NDA so unfortunately I can’t tell you about the juicy content, but I can say that I’ve been left inspired and somewhat in awe of the talent that was in the room. We had excellent (pun intended) presentations from Bill Manville, Frédéric Le Guen, Charles Williams, Ken Puls, Jan Karel Pieterse and Sam Radakovitz on the projects they’ve been working on and their exploration of the latest Excel features. I can honestly say that I learnt more about Excel in the two days I spent with this crowd than I have in the last year!

Here are a few photos so you can put faces to those online names you probably know:

Group2

From left to right: Roger Govier, me, Liam Bastick, Boriana Petrova, Bill Manville, William Janson (Microsoft), Frédéric Le Guen, Hans Le Roy (Internet Explorer MVP), Catherine Monier, Charles Williams, Henk Vlootman, Andy Pope, Ron de Bruin, Ken Puls, Jan Karel Pieterse, Sam Radakovitz (Microsoft).

Group1

From left to right: Hervé Thiriez, Bill Jelen, Catherine Monier.

Group3

From left to right: Wim Gielis, Andy Pope.

About Colin Legg

RAD Developer Microsoft MVP - Excel 2009 - 2014
This entry was posted in Microsoft Excel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

